Temp Work Is Dangerous

If I took this away from you, I apologize.

I was shocked awake this morning with a terrible thought. My subconscious decided it was a good idea to add more stress to my already aching brain by reminding me of a stint of temp work I had done a couple years back at a very large nationwide mortgage company.

It was an interesting experience to say the least.  And it was run by a malevolent character that I referred to as the “Leather Popsicle”.  She had a penchant for tanning to the point of beef jerky and just as salty a disposition.

Like I said, I was a temp and I wasn’t necessarily loyal to the company, yet I strived to do an acceptable job so that I could continue to have some cashflow.  Some others and I were brought in to work on a particular project. Our assignment was to process and fund a backlog of mortgages applying for refinancing.

Need I remind you: I’m a temp! I have no prior experience in this field!

Scary, right?

All that being said, we went to work after about a half an hour of instruction. Our training was basically a manual/binder that we would check the loans contents against and then input it into the company database.  If a particular page in the loan folder said x, then you would enter y into the database. Not very complicated. But here is the kicker: The manual, which they affectionately called “The Bible”, would change every week!  X would become Y and vice versa the following week!  This was very disconcerting to me because what I had processed previously seemed to be null compared to what I was processing on any other given day.

But what could I say? I had no previous experience in this industry. So I kept my mouth shut and put my head into my work and tried to be as accurate as possible.  It was tough to know that my accuracy was being affected by essentially what felt like a rigged system that erred on the side of flaws. I hoped that I was just misunderstanding the larger picture.

Two weeks later my assignment ended and a month or two after I had moved on to another job, the housing market crashed. The company I had worked for was swallowed up by another entity and the recession has been a daily news topic ever since.

About chrysanthemummy

My apprehension and skepticism are a defense mechanism I have learned to embrace in order to navigate the absurdity of life. (this will be updated as soon as I think of an alternative way to describe myself). Oh! I like star wars...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

